Monroe County Climate Change Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Monroe County Climate Change Advisory Committee is to make recommendations to the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) regarding appropriate mitigation and adaptation policies needed to address climate chante issues and to provide input to staff regarding implementation of those components of the Florida Energy & Climate Commission Grant Agreement No. ARS010 requiring community input and intergovernmental coordination, climate action plans and other climate related draft reports as needed. This is a continuation of the BOCC efforts that began with the Green Initiative Task Force which sunset October 1, 2010.

This committee was established on January 19, 2011 with adoption of Resolution No. 002-2011. There will be eleven voting members with two members appointed by each commissioner, with at least one from his or her district, and one member appointed by the County Administrator. Other governmental entities such as the utilities, municipalities, constitutional offices, school board, or other state and federal agencies may participate as non-voting advisors. Each member shall serve a term of one year with the possibility to renew for one additional year.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

  • 2017: November 13, December 18
  • 2018 schedule - coming soon!
  • Meetings take place monthly from 12:30 to 4:00 p.m. at the Marathon Government Center, 2798 Overseas Highway, 2nd Floor BOCC meeting room, Marathon, FL 33050

Agendas / Minutes - 2017

ADA Assistance

  • If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by calling (305) 292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting. If you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711". Accommodation Request Form


  • Ed Russo, District 1
  • Jerry Lieberman, District 1
  • Shirley Gun, District 2
  • Vacant, District 2
  • Perry Johnston, District 3
  • Michael Larson, District 3
  • Robert Glazer, District 4
  • Lisa Kaul, District 4
  • Michelle Robinson, District 5
  • Vicki Boguszewski, District 5
  • Natalia Duke, County Administrator
  • Heather Carruthers, Monroe County BOCC

Publications / Websites 

green keys logo

Alicia Betancourt
UF/IFAS County Extension Director and Family & Community Development Agent
(305) 453-8747

Murray Nelson Government Center
102050 Overseas Hwy.
Suite 244
Key Largo, FL 33037

EDIS Publications